Braining Forward

My personal story about the fight against myself. A daily fight yes, but a daily victory in knowing I am the survivor of a TBI(traumatic brain injury). With each day comes a new win.

Tired

The book opens. One page flips then another. I am at my tenth page when my eyelids begin to close and my brain seems to shut off.

Exhausted…..

Was the book boring? No. But maybe…no! The book was fantastic! I wanted to read for longer, I truly did. Then why?!? Why can I not remain focused…why can I not finish just one god damned book in such a short period of time!?! Why must it take me days or possibly weeks to finally get to the end!??

Time…

Libraries are pointless. Thank God for my iPad and it’s reading app since hell, I get to read as many books as I want for only $9.95 per month. What a fucking deal. Maybe for someone who can keep focused…maybe for someone who doesn’t have to reread the same shit twelve times before it sticks!

Weak…

Cognitive ability…what in the shitting world is that? You know, I use to know…I use to have this amazing memory. I used to breeze through books and remember everything to a tee. *eyes water-tears form*. If you wanted a play by play, I was your girl…I was the go to.

Was…

All I wanted was to read. I wanted to sit down and read one fucking book. Instead, my brain injury has won again. Maybe tomorrow night.

Maybe…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

